Music will be my prayer.

Music, along with writing, is my way to worship. There’s very things in this life that i love more than music. As one of my favorite bands once sang “Music the great communicator” (i’m very happy if you what song that’s from!)  and i really think this has more truth than we give it credit for.

If you’ve been reading this blog for any amount of time, you’d know about my love for music, the post that’s gotten the most attention on this blog is my piece on why i think that the song “a prayer” by kings kaleidoscope is a turning point in worship music, i’ve written about songs that have touched me in a way that not many things can, songs like “in Christ alone” “Before the throne” and so many more. But why is that? Why does music have such a profound effect on us as followers of Christ? Well i think i might have an answer.

One of my favorite books in the bible is the book of psalms. It’s such a strong and honest account of struggles with following and trusting in God. Yet still has some amazing examples of faithfulness. Let’s look at a passage from psalm 139 (13-18) for example:

“For you created my inmost being;
    you knit me together in my mother’s womb.
 I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;
    your works are wonderful,
    I know that full well.
 My frame was not hidden from you
    when I was made in the secret place,
    when I was woven together in the depths of the earth.
Your eyes saw my unformed body;
    all the days ordained for me were written in your book
    before one of them came to be.
 How precious to me are your thoughts, God!
    How vast is the sum of them!
 Were I to count them,
    they would outnumber the grains of sand—
    when I awake, I am still with you.”

This is quite frankly beautiful, it really does paint a picture of God’s love and investment in us. And what a lot of people seem to forget is, psalms are often preformed with musical accompaniment. And here’s a song that uses this psalm as inspiration Kings Kaleidoscope 139

Something that i’ve noticed is how music and songs can subtly teach us pieces of scripture, this isn’t even limited to worship. I mean, i know how metal/rock is condemned by many in the faith, and i can somewhat understand that view-point, i disagree with this argument if i’m honest, in fact i’ll be reviving an old series i started last year to dig a bit deeper into this topic. But the reason i bring this up is because of a song i hear criticized a lot. Iron maidens “number of the best”
Now don’t get me wrong, i’m not going to claim it was written as a pro Christ song, nor that it’s 100% biblically correct or anything like that. However one thing i will say in defense of it (disclaimer i am a pretty big maiden fan and i like this song a lot!) is how it starts, see, the beginning a lot of people use to try to condemn it. However it actually uses two parts of Revelation. First at the intro of the song it uses Revelation 12:12  “Woe to the earth and the sea, because the devil has come down to you with great fury, because he knows his time is short.” then at the end of the intro it uses revelation 13:18 “Let the person who has insight calculate the number of the beast, for it is the number of a man. That number is 666.” regardless of your opinion on the song, can we all agree it’s pretty awesome that a metal band can get a whole stadium, filled with thousands to sing the word of God without even realizing for the most part? Doesn’t that show us how amazing our God is? That he can take something like metal music and use it to teach us his word?

But he does this in through worship too. Let’s take “in Christ alone” as an example. The last verse is my daily prayer, “No power of hell, no scheme of man, can ever pluck me from his hands!” having reflected on this, the comparison to which verse this is based on is pretty  blatantly Romans 8:38.  Isn’t that amazing that our God is so creative he can teach us scripture in this way?

And this is why i think we as people of Christ do love worship music as much as we do, because not only are we learning the word of the ever-loving God. But these words that we sing can and, at least in my case, become our prayers. There’s so many examples of this, the song “because he lives” is a truly inspiring piece, and i honestly think it’s a song that can help people on the edge of giving up on life, know that life is worth the living just because he lives! (you can read more of my views on this song here Because he lives.) Our God is a creative God, one that uses paintings, writing, videos, movies, TV shows, online comics, Music, just to name a few to speak to his people and the world at large to show them that our God isn’t false, that our God is real, undeniable, in-explainable, and all-powerful, and most of all, alive!

in the up coming weeks i’m going to be reviving a series i started last year, that i’ve named “everyday worship” which will focus on finding God’s word in the secular music scene. This will pretty much branch out into many different genres. If you have any suggestions for a song for this series, contact me on here, or on Twitter Here or on Facebook Here or even leave a comment.

Honestly i want to know, what songs inspire you? Is there something about worship that i’ve missed in this post? Let me know in the comments. But as always…

Thank you for reading, and May God Bless you.

One thought on “Music will be my prayer.

Leave a Reply

