In Christ Alone.

This has been a truly blessed week. Not only has the Lord put in the foundations for his plans for my future and my life, but he has allowed me to reflect on where i was a year ago and helped me see how the bad is used for his good. God is good my friends, all the time! But today’s blog isn’t about me, but about the three words that make all things possible, the three words that we as Christians should live by. Those words are “In Christ Alone”

So if you hadn’t guessed by now, i’m a massive fan of hymns. I love modern worship, i truly think in terms of worship music, we’re in a great time to be followers of Christ. But there’s something that is lost when updating some classic songs. For example, “Be thou my vision” was updated by rend collective to be “You are my vision” and there’s nothing wrong with that. But for me the original is so much more than just a call of “yes lord you are my vision” it’s a plea for our God to be with us, that we may see things as he does, that he would protect us and that we would follow him through  all things. But there’s one hymn that in my opinion should never be updated, and by the title of this, i think you can guess what song it is.

And as someone who is a massive fan of music, i find that lyrics can be some of the most powerful ways to get a message across, in fact, the name of this blog is a play on the king’s kaleidoscope song “light after darkness” because when i was at that point of depression, the good Lord used music to speak to me. There’s a reason that protest songs stand the test of time where most speeches are lost to time .

The reason i’m sharing this is because i want to share some lyrics from this well-known hymn that have defined my faith, and where the comparisons of this amazing song can be backed up in the word of God. The lyrics i’m referring to today come at the end of “in Christ Alone” “No pow’r of hell, no scheme of man, can ever pluck me from his hands.” That is such a powerful message that we as followers of Jesus need to hold on to. That we are forever held in the hands of the almighty father, that his love for us is unending and never-failing, because that’s who he is. A loving father that protects his children!

And this statement is backed up in maybe my favorite passage in the bible, Romans 8:38 “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

This is the power of our Lord. That nothing in all of creation can separate us from his love. That he loves us so much that he would give his only son that we may be able to be in relationship with him once again, without the burden of our sin. We are blessed to be able to say we are defined by the three words “in Christ alone”

Our greatness comes from the one that made us great, we are loved by the one that loved us first. All of the good things we are able to do in our lives are thanks to the blessings of our lord, and that we are free of our sin through Christ alone. That’s not to say we can’t be proud of ourselves when we do something well, because our father has blessed with our talents, but it’s just as important to remember we are made great “in Christ alone”

So this is something I’ve wanted to write about for a while now as someone who does have a love of music. Are there any songs that inspire you? What lyrics really touch your heart? Let me know in the comments!

Or if you want to contact me on social media, You’ll find a link to my twitter Here a link to the facebook group Here or follow me on instagram Here But as always

Thank you for reading, and May God Bless you.

Link to “In Christ alone”- In Christ alone- Kings kaleidoscope

 

 

One thought on “In Christ Alone.

Leave a Reply

