What worship is to me.

Anyone that knows me knows about my love for worship, I love worship music, spoken word, writing, and all the other amazing ways our lord allows us to honor him. And as of late, he’s really been putting the importance of worship on my heart, not only through activities like music and prayer, but in our everyday lives. But this asks the question what is it worship, and what does it mean to live in worship?

One of my favorite psalms is psalm 100 for many reasons, including the fact that it explains worship extremely well.

“Shout for joy to the Lord, all the earth.
   Worship the Lord with gladness;
    come before him with joyful songs.
 Know that the Lord is God.
    It is he who made us, and we are his
    we are his people, the sheep of his pasture.

Enter his gates with thanksgiving
    and his courts with praise;
    give thanks to him and praise his name.
 For the Lord is good and his love endures forever;
    his faithfulness continues through all generations.”

 I find this psalm interesting in its wording, because it’s not just telling us to worship the Lord, but what it means to the author (believed to be David but not confirmed to be) to in fact worship.

I’ve thought about this a lot as of late. I’ve spoken with many people who I love and respect about what worship means to them, with and a lot of time in prayer, I think I’ve come to a conclusion on what worship means to me.

Worship at its literal definition is to show reverence and adoration for “a deity” (Don’t think I need to explain why I’ve put this in inverted commas) and at the core yes, this is worship, but to me it’s so much more than that, it’s giving our all to honor the one that saved us, it’s praising in the times of hardship, it’s being thankful when life is hard and pushing on when everything looks like it’s at it’s very worst, and having the trust that our God will use all things to our good.

Worship isn’t just using our minds to write, or our voices to sing, it’s a call from the heart for more trust in his word and his works, it’s a cry from the soul to trust in the lord, and it’s call upon us from the spirit to give thanks to the Lord of all, not only for creating us and loving us, but for the gift of his son, given that we my live a life free from the chains of sin. And when we lose the passion for worship, is it even worship anymore?

We as people of God need to remember why we worship, we are not called to worship in order to impress each other, or to show how talented we are as people, but to thank our lord, for gifting us with our gifts and using them to honor him. We need to be able to discern when we cease to worship and just do what we’ve blessed with the skills to do because it’s what we’ve always done.

That doesn’t mean we should just give up on what we love if we lose the will to worship through it, but burn out is a real problem in terms of our faith and our worship, so the advice I’d give as someone that’s just been through this, is to take a step back, put some thought into where the Good lord is leading you, in life or worship and build from there. We are people built to worship, so let us worship with all our hearts and souls.

Lord, I thank you for making us exactly as we are , i thank you that you know us, that you love us and that you bless us with the ability to praise your holy name. I pray that you would guide us towards worship over routine, that you’d show us when we lose our way and lead us back to you, that’d we’d know when worship of you stops being just that, worship and that you’d forgive us when we lose our way. Thank you for everything you’ve done for us and continue to do. in your mighty name. Amen.

Thank you for reading and May God Bless you.

Follow me on twitter here Life after darkness twitter

Join the community on facebook here Life after darkness Facebook group

Also I now have instagram so follow me there if you’d like! Instagram account

6 thoughts on “What worship is to me.

  1. I have the privilege of leading worship at my church sometimes and I find it such an encouragement to see everyone engaging with God in different ways wherever they are at. It’s just fantastic.

    Like

    1. It’s a true blessing to be able to do that! I also lead worship on occasion, and when you look out and see the people of God meeting him, it’s a feeling unlike any other!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

