United in love.

As we begin the year of 2017, I can’t help but reflect on last year. In all honesty, it was a rough year on a personal level, I had huge struggles with my mental health, really struggled with my faith and made an effort to cut off those that tried to support me, but the good Lord kept me on track with him, he helped me see the error of my ways, in my mind and in my heart, and slowly, helping me make amends to those I hurt while I was in that mindset. But this weeks post isn’t about me, but the love that our God shows to all of us.

The reason I felt the need to share some of those events is a simple one, it shows the love and forgiveness of the Lord, even when we mess up, even when we stray he will stand by us and welcome us back with open arms to his family. And considering Christmas is not quite a distant memory, I feel that it’s important to remember the love we have for each other around that time of year, and keep it going all year round.

Colossians 2:2

“My goal is that they may be encouraged in heart and united in love, so that they may have the full riches of complete understanding, in order that they may know the mystery of God, namely, Christ.”

This to me, is what we as the body of Christ should be striving for, at least, in terms of our relationship with each other. If we are the body of Christ, we can’t be unable to stand because the leg is hurting, we must do what we would if it were our own body, and do what we can to heal it. We are united as one in the love of Jesus, and we must encourage each other as if we couldn’t function without them, because in truth, we are lesser without when we lose someone. We are all vital for the body to function at 100%, we’re all important to the body for many different reasons, and we should treat each other as such.

We also must be united in love. Now, what does it mean to be united in love? To me at least, it means knowing that, we won’t be best friends with everyone and yet we still love them as family. I know there are people who don’t think a lot of me, and that’s fine, they have that right, but that doesn’t mean I love them any less. And that’s a hard thing to do, love someone who really wants nothing to do with you, but it’s what we’re called into as people of God, we need to show the same love to our enemies that our Lord shows for us. Jesus died to unite us in love with the gift of his blood, and that sacrifice was for all people, not just our friends.

We have to stand together even when we disagree, we’re already in a world that wants nothing to do with us for the most part, and if we’re fighting each other, how are we meant to stand up to the horror that is sin and corruption? Together we must live according to the way Christ asked us to, and stand united in the blood of Christ and the love of God. I’m going to try something different this week and end with a prayer.

Father, thank you for the love you’ve shown us through the blood of your son, Jesus Christ and thank you for the love you show us in our day-to-day lives. I think you that you allow us to represent you on earth, and that you would lead us ever more towards your will, that we would be a house united in love and honor, and able to stand up to the enemies corruption, and that your truth would cover us from his lies. I pray for those that are struggling right now, if that be in health physical or mental, or those in poverty, or those that love you but aren’t as free as us to express their love for you as we are, and that liberation would come for them. Continue to bless our brothers and sisters in their daily lives, and thank you for their faith in you. In your mighty name Amen.

Find me on twitter here Life after darkness twitter

Join the community on facebook here Life after Darkness Facebook group

I now have instagram so follow me there if you wish! Instagram page

Song of the week Prince of peace- Hillsong United

Leave a Reply

