Broken people made whole as one

Wow, I really can’t believe it’s December already, this year has gone so quickly! Looking back to just a months ago shows me the wonders that our God is able to do in such a short amount of time,  not just in my life, but the lives of those around me. I’ve been able to witness a number of changes in my day-to-day life, in my church and in our church family. But in seeing these changes, it gives a new perspective on us as the church of Christ.

As I’m sure I’ve stated before,  I really struggle being a part of a community, I tend to be a private person, I keep my troubles to my self (well, for the most part at least)  it’s a fault of mine that i need to work on,  but in an effort to work on this, I ended up staying at an event at one of the churches that i attend. It gave me time to spend with some of my wonderful church family, and catch up with a good friend of mine. And while i was there, he asked me to be a part of a project he is currently working on, and in turn, got me thinking about us as the church and as the body of Christ.

Now, i want to make something very clear. I am NOT saying this to run down the church, nor to make the church look bad, because I love being a part of the body, i mean, i wouldn’t have been involved with the church for so long if i didn’t. But i think something we need to remember, is that we are called to be love in this broken world. Before i go any further, I want to use this passage from 1 Corinthians 13(4-7) in order to add some context,

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.”

There are many things to take from this passage, that’s one of the reasons I love it so much. But there’s one part I want to focus on in particular.

“Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth”  Why do i want to focus on this line? The reason is a simple one. I feel that we as the church need to revel in the truth  that, we are a broken people made whole in the name of the lord, and in the Body of Jesus Christ.

That’s not to say that we’re delighting in evil by not admitting we’re broken, but more to sat that we should be using the fact that we are a broken people to show the world there’s a lifeline for the broken and a love for the so-called “unloveable.” I truly believe that, if we were only more honest with the people who haven’t met with the living God about where we’re at, that more people would be more willing to meet with him. I tend to find that, when we can acknowledge that we are far from the perfect people, that we tend to relate to those that have much different expectations of us as the church.

One of the many reasons I love the church, is its us as imperfect, flawed, but saved believers, trusting in the savior and lifting each other when we fall. But sometimes I feel like we really do need to embrace the fact that we are flawed, not as a cop-out for our sin, but as a battle cry against the brokenness of the world, that, no we are not perfect, but we’re not called to be, we’re called to come together to worship the Lord and invite others to have the same amazing relationship that we are called into.

So next time you feel like you’re not perfect, and you feel like because of that fact you’re letting God down, remember, God uses the broken in order to make others whole.

Thank you for reading and May God Bless you.

Follow me on Twitter here! Life After Darkness Twitter

Join our community on Facebook here! Life After Darkness Facebook Group

And the song that inspired this post. Kings Kaleidoscope- Gone

2 thoughts on “Broken people made whole as one

Leave a Reply

