Gifts from God.

I’ve really struggled to keep to my schedule of writing these posts as of late, this isn’t due to a lack of passion, nor a lack of time, but a struggle with my self. As I’ve probably stated before, I struggle with my own self worth, I very rarely feel that how I feel, or what I think actually matters. So after my latest post (Reflection/Resurrection) I was feeling pretty venerable honestly, as that’s the first time I’d wrote about that subject since returning to my hometown, and it’s still a sensitive issue for me, and I convinced myself that this is something that not many people would be interested, so the positive reception it received is really encouraging. So thank you to everyone that’s given that piece a read, it means a lot to me.

I know this is a strange paragraph to start with, but I thought it’d provide some context to today’s topic. I’m not an extremely confident person by nature, don’t get me wrong, I’m more than willing to speak out against what I feel is wrong, I talk to people I don’t know about the love of God, but in terms seeing myself as worthwhile, well that’s a struggle for me honestly. and I know it is for a lot of people. Even though we know the love that the lord of all has for us, it can be hard to take complements, or to accept praise when we’ve done something well. We see ourselves as somewhat incapable of taking credit for the things we do.

While it is true that it is through God that we are made great,he still made us with greatness in mind, “For you created my inmost being; you knit me together in my mother’s womb. I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made” (Psalm 139 13-14) the wonder of our God is he allows us to be a part of his plan by giving us these different gifts. 

Some of us are great speakers that people would travel miles to hear, or writers that many want to follow the works of (don’t think I’m there quite yet!)  and some could be called to be the shoulder to cry on for those that need it. All of these things are important for a number of reasons,and there are so many things that we are gifted because of the generosity of our Lord. He allows us these gifts and allows us to be a part of his plan for this world, because that’s the love he has for us.

We are given our gifts in order that we may serve the different needs of the body of Christ, no one gift is more important than another, as no two gifts are the same. We each have a different calling on our lives, without the gifts, without the passion, without the love that our God instills in us, our paths would a lot duller than they are, but that’s a wonderful thing about our God, he’s so creative!

We may not feel like we’re important, we may think that the body would be fine without us, but when one of us is missing, everyone misses out, because you are important, so keep pushing on in your walk and in with your relationship with the living God.

This is a bit of a shorter post today, but I’ve got something special in mind as a mid-week series, that’ll hopefully make up for it, and thank you to everyone that does take the time to read these, it really means the world to me.

Thank you for reading. And May God Bless you.

Find me on twitter here Life after darkness twitter

Join the Facebook community Life after darkness Facebook Group

Leave a Reply

