Shield of Faith

Last Friday, me and a couple of good friends of mine were invited to a bloggers event in Ashford, Kent. The idea behind it is to get more eyes on the wonderful town. And for me at least, it was an amazing experience that got me to see how far the town has come since i last visited it a number of years ago. But today’s post is based on something else that happened that before our day really got into the swing of things and how it can apply to those that are struggling with their faith in God.

As we were making our way around the town of Ashford, a sign on one of the windows caught my eye, it was a passage from the book of Matthew (11:28) “Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest.” This caught my eye and we decided to go inside and see what was happening. 

It turned out we’d stumbled upon a place called the hub, a Christian outreach centre. After telling them a little about where we were from and why we were in Ashford, they offered to pray for us, and our numerous situations and this is where I got today’s topic from.

As these wonderful people were praying over me, one of them told me of a picture they’d seen over my life. Me standing with God with a shield of faith, one that looks heavy but I am able to carry it, as I continue to walk on, through anything that would harm me.

This to me, is pretty reflective of this past year of my life, I’ve gone from the deepest depths of depression to being able to feel comfortable with who God made me to be, far from perfect, but his all the same.

The reason I bring this up is not to show everyone how amazing I am, because if that was the case this would be an extremely short post otherwise, but to share this picture with all of you reading, because this is bigger than just me. I Believe that, I was given this picture to share this with those of you reading this that struggle to hold firm in his promise as I did at the beginning of this year.

The thing about Jesus is, he doesn’t lie to us about how hard life will be following him, in fact he’s pretty straight forward with  us when it comes to what we’ll go through. In Luke 9:23 he tells us “Whoever wants to be my disciple must deny themselves and take up their cross daily and follow me.” This passage was the topic of one of my first ever post (And you can read that here The art of suffering (taking up your cross) ) but I still think the point remains, a life living for the lord is worth the anguish of this world. We are all called to bear our crosses, but that doesn’t mean we have to do it in our own power. This has been far from a good year for me, but looking back on it, I can see all the amazing things the lord has done with how I’ve been feeling, and how that shield of faith has kept me moving through the loneliness of Depression, through the trials of anxiety, and I still have a fair walk to go, but I know with him I can do it, and I know you can too.

Through our God all things are possible, the sick can be healed, the blind can see again and the lowest will be lifted high. Our God created all things, and he loves like his child because that’s what you are, a child of the almighty father. He will be with you in the good and the bad, the trials and the changes, and even the worst situation will turn out for good, because he loves you more than you could ever know, as long as you keep your shield of faith up and your heart open to his word, he will lead you though the darkest of times.

I want to end with a Quote a good friend of mine sent me from Charles Spurgeon, a man who will have a couple of future topics dedicated to him.

“We have had dark nights, but the star of love has shone forth amid the blackness; we have been in stern conflicts, but over our head he has held aloft the shield of our defense. We have gone through many trials, but never to our detriment, always to our advantage; and the conclusion from our past experience is, that he who has been with us in six troubles, will not forsake us in the seventh.”

Thank you for reading and May God bless you.

Join the community on Facebook here Life after darkness Facebook group

Follow me on Twitter here Lifeafterdarkness Twitter

One thought on “Shield of Faith

Leave a Reply

