Made for God, made for community.

Before I start today’s blog I just want to say, God is good, all the time. I’ve been struggling in my battle with anxiety more than depression this week, so I’ve been trying to keep myself shut away, to avoid spending time with my friends and family at the risk of feeling like I’m getting in their way, and through this God has given me a constant theme this week, “Man was not made to be alone” and how important community is to the Christian faith. 

Last Wednesday,  I started a theological course on the topic of “Living the Christian story” in which the first topic was on creation. One of the passages that came up has stuck with me all week, and it’s a passage that a lot of people may have heard before;  Genesis 2 (18-22)

The Lord God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone. I will make a helper suitable for him.”

Now the Lord God had formed out of the ground all the wild animals and all the birds in the sky. He brought them to the man to see what he would name them; and whatever the man called each living creature,that was its name. So the man gave names to all the livestock, the birds in the sky and all the wild animals.

But for Adam no suitable helper was found. So the Lord God caused the man to fall into a deep sleep; and while he was sleeping, he took one of the man’s ribs and then closed up the place with flesh.Then the Lord God made a woman from the rib he had taken out of the man, and he brought her to the man”

It’s one of the more commonly known passages from the old testament, but it’s the first line that has stuck in my mind all week. “It is not good for the man to be alone” because personally I feel like there’s more to it than can be seen at first glance.

When I first heard this passage my initial thought was “Obviously God was talking about the creation of Eve” And, yes, this is the case however, like a lot of situations that God puts us through, there’s a lot more to this than may be evident at first.

I know a lot of people have said (including myself at one point) that “All we need is God to get through life” now in theory this is correct, because he is our daily bread and his son is the water of eternal life, however, I ask this question “If God only created us to be in relationship with him, then why did he feel the need to create Eve? Why not just Adam?” The answer in my mind at least, is a simple one. Because it’s not Good for a man to be alone.

We are created to be social beings, otherwise why would we all be a part of the bride of Christ? Why not just one of us? Because We are not only called to be in a relationship with God, but with each other! We are called to love each other like Jesus loved us, we are called to stand by our brothers and sisters in Christ when we see our family in distress, because we are one body! Being a part of the community is extremely important to a happy and healthy life with our Lord, because we were created to be together in times of pain and strife, in order that we might know Jesus even better than we do now.

We are called by Jesus himself to love the lord our God above all else, this is true, but when fellow followers of Christ use this as a defense to not put ourselves out there and spread the love that we know because of him, I feel like they’re only living half the Christian life, because what was Jesus’ other commandment? ” Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another.” (john 13:34) How can we love those that we haven’t met yet?

Being an extroverted introvert, I can understand how hard it can be to put yourself out there, but we need to be willing to be a part of the community, because we were not called to be alone, we were made to be in relationship with God and each other.

I may do a follow-up post this week on the benefits of being in a Christian community, because I feel like this is too broad a topic to cover in one post!

Until then

Thank you for reading and may God bless you.

Follow me on twitter here Life after darkness Twitter

Join the community on Facebook here Life after darkness facebook group

 

 

6 thoughts on “Made for God, made for community.

Leave a Reply

