Days will come and go no matter what i say(your will be done)

One of my favorite bands ever is Foo fighters. I don’t really mention my taste in music all that much on this blog, but this is relevant for this weeks post. As it was a foo fighters song that has got me thinking about how i approach my actions when trying to live for Jesus, and managed to bring me back to one of the most well-known prayers of the Christian Faith, the lords prayer.

Like I said, I’m a huge Foo fighters fan, i’m the sort of guy that can name their albums in order from Their first in 1995 (The first album being a self titled effort, which was pretty much a one man band at this point with Lead singer Dave Grohl playing every instrument bar the guitar on the song “X-Static”) to their latest album (not counting the latest E.P) Sonic highways. I love more or less every song of theirs I’ve heard. But it was the title track from the E.P “Saint Cecilia” That has got me thinking about my faith.

I’ll link the song at the end, because it’s an amazing song in its own right, but it was the last set of lyrics that really inspired me to write this

“I know no matter what I say
Days will come and go
No matter what I say
Nothing’s set in stone
No matter what I say
Days go by”

I’m a big believer in finding Christian messages in non-Christian songs (Could be a new weekly subject in the near future, I’m getting good at this whole foreshadowing thing!) but this one really made me think.

We being mere humans can’t change the will of God. And as this amazing song says Days will come and go no matter what we say. To me at least, it’s being able to roll with the punches of life and find God in even the most hopeless of situations, if we can’t change our situation, does that mean we should be as cynical as possible and just give up hope of things getting better? Or does it mean we should try to find the positive points of where we are, and use them to do God’s will and bless those around us?

Now, how does this song relate to the lords prayer? Well for reference here’s the lords prayer that Jesus himself taught us:

“Our Father in heaven,
hallowed be your name,
your kingdom come,
your will be done,
on earth as in heaven.
Give us today our daily bread.
Forgive us our sins
as we forgive those who sin against us.
Lead us not into temptation
but deliver us from evil.
For the kingdom, the power,
and the glory are yours
now and for ever.
Amen.”

This is an amazing prayer, there’s so much you can take out of this prayer like the line “Give us today our daily bread.” Which is referenced in proverbs 30:8 (Keep falsehood and lies far from me; give me neither poverty nor riches, but give me only my daily bread. Which you can find a piece i wrote on this verse here Neither poverty nor riches ) But for today at least, its “Your kingdom come, your will be done” that I’d like to focus on.

I really feel that this goes hand in hand with this amazing song, Days shall come and go no matter what we say, and we shall struggle in our lives, but days will come and go. There will be hard times that we feel like giving up, but days will come and go. Sometimes our faith will be tested, but what we need to remember is Days will come and Go, and what we need to repeat is ” Days may come and go, but may your will be done lord.” For it is true that God loves us and he will stand by you as the days go by, and as long as you can trust in him, All things will be used for your good.

The song in question: Saint Cecilia By Foo Fighters

Thank you for reading, Keep searching for the light and may God bless you.

Follow me on twitter here Life after darkness twitter

 

 

One thought on “Days will come and go no matter what i say(your will be done)

Leave a Reply

