Fighting depression in the army of Christ

I just want to start this post off by saying God is good. even when everything seems to be crumbling around you, it’s only so he can build something better. Our God is a God of love, and a God of grace. He knows what ever you’re going through right now, and he feels your hurt, and he will stand beside you and be there for you as long as you’re willing to turn to him.

The reason I start with this is I know a lot of people have been struggling as of late. Me included. I’ve been letting Depression have a grip on me, and drag me away from the light of God as of late. And as I was in church yesterday, i was reminded of a poem i wrote a while back.

It’s a piece based on Ephesians 6:10-18 (the armor of God) and I’ll be posting it later in the week. But it got me thinking about how Christians can be described as an army for God’s will, fighting back the darkness of sin in this world. We as the church, as a family of the saved, as the body of Christ on earth should be standing together, we won’t always get along, we won’t always agree, we will upset each other at times, but we need to stand as one for the glory of God. Like an army of Christ, we should stand together to face the enemy.

I bring this up because something,  from my experience at least, I don’t really see the church tackle all that much is the growing problem of mental health. That’s not to say it’s an easy thing to take on, because if you’ve never struggled with issues of mental health, it can be a difficult thing to explain. As I’ve mentioned many times before, I struggle with clinical depression and anxiety, and it can be a very isolating mindset/illness to struggle with. It can convince you that, your friends don’t want anything to do with you, that everyone would be better off if you’d never been born. I’ve even struggled with suicidal thoughts. Now i know this isn’t true, i know that the love of Jesus is stronger than all of these horrible evil thoughts, and that he brought me into this world for an important reason, to be a part of his army of righteousness.

The point I want to make here is a simple one, By the grace of God, I’ve been taken in and shown the love he has for me. That’s not to say i still don’t struggle with the clouds of depression, but I know I’ll beat it when God wants me to. But not everyone in our church family can say that, there are those that struggle with thoughts of self harm, of inferiority, of not being good enough to be a citizen of Heaven. And no one in our family can be left behind if we truly are a family of God. God didn’t leave us when we struggled so why, as the body of Christ on earth should we leave those that need us?

We need to try as people of the living God to help the helpless. Sometimes all that someone has given up on themselves needs is someone who hasn’t given up on them, I know that from experience, sometimes it might be more. But I’m pleading, as the army of Christ, can we begin to start fighting the evil of mental illness that’s harming so many people, and at the very least, try to help them find the light of the living God rather than just turning them away because we don’t understand?

Grace is a stronger shield than any metal, and love sharper weapon than any blade. We are the army of God, And it’s time to stand with our brothers and sisters of faith in this war.

Thank you for reading, and may God bless you.

Join the community on facebook here

Follow me on twitter here

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “Fighting depression in the army of Christ

  1. Such an important topic. Thank you for sharing how we can fight and help others as fellow believers. Also, it’s encouraging to hear your story and how despite your struggle you PRAISE God. That’s wonderful. Keep going, keep growing. Keep sharing your testimony.

    Like

  2. I am a person who has experienced the negative effects of mental illness. Severe mood swings, depression that kept me from living life, and thoughts about how life would be some much better without me in it. GOD delivered me from the most severe aspects of this illness a long time ago, but depression would creep up on me every once in a while…very long story made short…this past Sunday my Pastor gave us this verse that I’ve heard 100 times before, but now I finally understood it:

    “My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. ”

    The main point was: GOD wants to take care of us and love us (HE’s the Giver of all good things)…but we have to let HIM. I had to let go of what I wanted and just start listening to and doing what GOD has for me.

    I will be praying for others to know HIS love as well 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

