Neither poverty nor riches

In last weeks post, I wrote about proverbs 21:3 “To do what is right and just is more acceptable to the Lord than sacrifice” and how important it is to keep in this in mind when we are living for Jesus (you can find that post here Justice & righteousness over sacrifice ) and once again I was reading through proverbs and these verses really struck me from this book of wisdom.

Proverbs 30:7-9

“Two things I ask of you, Lord;
    do not refuse me before I die:
 Keep falsehood and lies far from me;
    give me neither poverty nor riches,
    but give me only my daily bread.
 Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
    and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
    and so dishonor the name of my God

This is a really powerful couple of verses, and quite an important message on material riches and, to me at least, a call to those who can be less than generous with their knowledge

But before we get to that side of this wonderful passage, let’s dissect the first couple of lines.  “Two things I ask of you, Lord; do not refuse me before I die: Keep falsehood and lies far from me” I think this part speaks for its self really, It’s a call to God to keep us in his heart when we pass from this world and allow us into his kingdom, and to let the only  words that come from our mouths be his, instead of the bitterness and lies that we can become enthralled by at times, it’s something that we can all be guilty of at times and a sin that, with the help of God, we may be able to overcome in time.

This is the part that made me want to do a post on this passage, “Give me neither poverty nor riches,
    but give me only my daily bread.
 Otherwise, I may have too much and disown you
    and say, ‘Who is the Lord?’
Or I may become poor and steal,
    and so dishonor the name of my God”

Now what is it that made me want to write about this?  Well, it’s the first part that caught my attention “Give me neither poverty nor riches” This is a fascinating statement, not so much the nor riches, as it’s stated a lot in the word how, when not used for the kingdom’s work, wealth and greed and be an extremely corrupting force, but the first half of that verse asking not to be made poor, that I find interesting.

I’m not from a very wealthy family, not to say I’m poor, I’m blessed to have food, clean water, and a roof over my head, but we are not a well off family. It can be difficult sometimes, but I’m very blessed to have wonderful people in my life (And i hope if they’re reading this they know who they are and how much their continued support means to me) that help me out when i need help, if its money to see me through the week or prayer when my depression is taking over, but those people mean a lot to me, and i try to do what I can to pay them back. The reason I mention this is, I thought if I gave some insight into my own situation, I’d be able to apply some context to this verse for someone in my position.

The reason I find this so interesting is, it’s not a prayer to have nothing, but a prayer to have enough to be able to focus on the love of God, enough that we can follow his will for us but not so much that we lose sight of him. But i don’t just see this passage as a message about worldly possessions, but a question about our spiritual knowledge. I think an extremely important part of living a Christian life is knowing as much as we can about the word of God. However, it’s the reason we want to know more that i apply this verse to, are we digging into the word in order to know about the greatest father and his almighty son, and how to live according to the love they have for us? Or are we studying the word in order to show everyone around us how much we know while keeping God at arms length?  Our daily bread goes hand in hand with the word of God as a man doesn’t live on bread alone (Matthew 4:4) See, in terms of possessions and knowledge, i see riches and wealth as two different areas. I see those with wealth as people who are willing to help those around them, as people that don’t keep what they have to themselves, or in other words,  generous. Where i feel that the word rich has a negative connotation associated with it. So i pray that God blesses you with wondrous amounts of wealth. If you have any ideas for future posts be sure to let me know. Thank you for reading and may God bless you.

Also, big thank you to my Dear Friend Margret for the continued support with this blog, if it wasn’t for her wonderful heart and kind words I would have been too downtrodden to continue doing this blog, so i thought I’d take the time to thank her here!

Join the community on facebook here

Find me on twitter here

Contact me by email here.

One thought on “Neither poverty nor riches

Leave a Reply

