Anchor in the storm

Hi everyone, this weeks post is actually a different subject to what I was originally going to write about, however, i feel this is more appropriate to the theme of earlier posts of this month, i may do an extra post this week about the theme for next month,but we’ll see i guess!

I’m not going to lie, this week I wasn’t going to write anything, I was going to just give up on this like I’ve given up on hundreds of activities I’ve loved, I was ready to just stop and go back to wasting my days, one of the biggest downsides to depression (not that there’s many advantages to having depression) is the struggle to find the dedication to do even the things you really enjoy, and I feared this was going to be another one of those activities, however, I really felt God pushing me to continue this, which is what give me the idea for this weeks topic.

As I stated last week, God will sometimes put us in situations, that, at the time seem hopeless, when looked at in hindsight, have served a purpose. However, something i feel like i skimmed over last week was how we deal with suffering in the moment, and how we need to allow Jesus to be our anchor in the storms of life.

Now, this is something that’s easy to say, “Oh just put everything at Gods feet” not to say this is isn’t valid, because it is important to hand over all our struggles and worries to God, but I truly believe that it’s rather important to remember that God uses our suffering to bless us, so part of us needs to suffer in order to experience this glory. This does not mean we should block out Jesus in order to suffer, but allow him to be in our suffering, let him in to stand by us when we feel lost, and guide us out of the negative  feelings we may be experiencing  . But we have to let him in to our hurt, and be able to confess when we’re struggling, sometimes that can be the hardest thing to do, to acknowledge our weaknesses and be able to hand over control to our God.

Hebrews 6:19 says “We have this hope as an anchor for the soul, firm and secure. It enters the inner sanctuary behind the curtain” I really love this idea of the hope of Jesus being an anchor for the soul, to me it perfectly encapsulates the importance of the love of Christ. I don’t think I need to explain the purpose of an anchor, but I love this idea of Christ’s everlasting and unfailing love holding us in place in the storm. When i normally think of an anchor, i think of being dragged down, rather than the actual purpose, to hold a ship or boat in place to stop it floating away. It’s this that reminds me of the importance of knowing Christ’s love for us, that keeps us in place at his side when the allure of the world of sin tries to pry us from his loving arms. His anchor doesn’t drag us down, but allows us to go deeper into his heart and know more about the God that was willing to give his son  to save a world that was sinking in a pool of its own shortcomings and drowning in an ocean of sin. At his word the storms ceased, and he can do the same for us, as long as we let his word into the eye of  our storms. Never doubt the lengths our God is willing to go to meet and save his children.

Thank you for reading, and may God bless you.

 

One thought on “Anchor in the storm

  1. Thanks for the encouragement, Luke. You are sailing on that big sea in a little boat called “Hope.” With its safe anchor for harbour times. Love, Margaret

    Like

Leave a Reply

